Reviews

Stephen MO

August 2016

The owner and instructor Ryan Ragan's surf knowledge, skill, and enthusiasm is off the chain.  He is patient and helpful to address individual concerns.  I rate his surf school a big 6 out of 5 stars!
5.0
2016-08-29T16:12:50+00:00
August 2016 The owner and instructor Ryan Ragan's surf knowledge, skill, and enthusiasm is off the chain.  He is patient and helpful to address individual concerns.  I rate his surf school a big 6 out of 5 stars!

Eddie311

August 2016

If you want to learn to surf,this is the place. I am 55 years old and have always wanted to surf. Pro surfer Ryan Ragan was our instructor. He teaches technique and safety on the beach first. When he sees that your ready,he takes you out to the waves. I got up on my first try. Ryan is a great guy and can teach people of any age to surf. Check it out you'll be glad you did.
5.0
2016-08-29T16:14:03+00:00
August 2016 If you want to learn to surf,this is the place. I am 55 years old and have always wanted to surf. Pro surfer Ryan Ragan was our instructor. He teaches technique and safety on the beach first. When he sees that your ready,he takes you out to the waves. I got up on my first try. Ryan is a great guy and can teach people of any age to surf. Check it out you'll be glad you did.

Anne Kissel

August 2016

I want to give Ryan Ragan a SIX!!!  Ok I'm ...well let's say, a senior chick with too many pounds on me, yet with his patient instruction and awesome equipment, I actually got UP on my first lesson OMG!  I'm def going back to HIM for more lessons!  Who wants to join me?  Thanks Ryan - you ROCK!
5.0
2016-08-29T16:14:37+00:00
August 2016 I want to give Ryan Ragan a SIX!!!  Ok I'm ...well let's say, a senior chick with too many pounds on me, yet with his patient instruction and awesome equipment, I actually got UP on my first lesson OMG!  I'm def going back to HIM for more lessons!  Who wants to join me?  Thanks Ryan - you ROCK!

David Escalante

July 2016

Ryan is awesome! Best choice I could've done for my first time surfing experience. Not your typical huge shop trying to sell something. He is a really good instructor (has lots of patience and explain you step by step) and really good person!

If I were you I would stop looking and go there for your surfing lessons
5.0
2016-08-29T16:15:15+00:00
July 2016 Ryan is awesome! Best choice I could've done for my first time surfing experience. Not your typical huge shop trying to sell something. He is a really good instructor (has lots of patience and explain you step by step) and really good person! If I were you I would stop looking and go there for your surfing lessons

Stollenwerks

June 2016

Ryan was very accommodating and knowledgeable, our entire family had a wonderful experience. Would definitely recommend!
5.0
2016-08-29T16:16:05+00:00
June 2016 Ryan was very accommodating and knowledgeable, our entire family had a wonderful experience. Would definitely recommend!

Maria Carusillo

June 2016

It was awesome! Ryan and josh were super friendly and helpful! Feel like a pro now
5.0
2016-08-29T16:16:55+00:00
June 2016 It was awesome! Ryan and josh were super friendly and helpful! Feel like a pro now

Susan Blakewell

June 2016

Ryan did an excellent job teaching my daughters about safety and technique before getting in the water. We had a nice small group of 4 and he made sure that everyone knew how to stand up on the board before hitting the waves. This really helped my youngest be successful once she got on the water. Thank you Ryan for letting them play with the boards after the lesson. It will be a day that we will never forget!!! 🙂
5.0
2016-08-29T16:17:49+00:00
June 2016 Ryan did an excellent job teaching my daughters about safety and technique before getting in the water. We had a nice small group of 4 and he made sure that everyone knew how to stand up on the board before hitting the waves. This really helped my youngest be successful once she got on the water. Thank you Ryan for letting them play with the boards after the lesson. It will be a day that we will never forget!!! 🙂

breanna elliott

June 2016

Ryan Ragan is awesome!!! such a cool guy,, really helped me out with a bike rental! I'm from Australia and he was super keen to help me learn about the area!

would totally recommend!! very helpful- 5 star
5.0
2016-08-29T16:19:15+00:00
June 2016 Ryan Ragan is awesome!!! such a cool guy,, really helped me out with a bike rental! I'm from Australia and he was super keen to help me learn about the area! would totally recommend!! very helpful- 5 star

Hannah H

June 2016

Life changing. Surfing is something I've dreamed about doing for years. I truly didn't expect to be able to stand up the first time or even be decent at it, but with Ryan's help I exceeded my expectations. 5 stars not just for an amazing experience, but for inspiring confidence in myself and helping me fulfill a dream.
5.0
2016-08-29T16:19:51+00:00
June 2016 Life changing. Surfing is something I've dreamed about doing for years. I truly didn't expect to be able to stand up the first time or even be decent at it, but with Ryan's help I exceeded my expectations. 5 stars not just for an amazing experience, but for inspiring confidence in myself and helping me fulfill a dream.

Pjturenne

June 2016

An EPIC experience. Although learning to Surf was on the Bucket List, never really thought it would happen. Ryan GUARANTEED he could get me up on a board despite my 52 yrs and almost as many extra pounds. Very positive coaching, motivation and in-water instruction got this old fatty up and surfing DUDE! Thanks Ryan, CHEERS!
5.0
2016-08-29T16:20:21+00:00
June 2016 An EPIC experience. Although learning to Surf was on the Bucket List, never really thought it would happen. Ryan GUARANTEED he could get me up on a board despite my 52 yrs and almost as many extra pounds. Very positive coaching, motivation and in-water instruction got this old fatty up and surfing DUDE! Thanks Ryan, CHEERS!

Dawn Moseley

June 2016

I signed up for surf lessons as a birthday present for my 12 year old son and I to take together.  Neither of us had ever surfed.  We had a wonderful time.   Both my son and I were able to surf after one lesson with Ryan!

We highly recommend Ryan for lessons!!
5.0
2016-08-29T16:21:11+00:00
June 2016 I signed up for surf lessons as a birthday present for my 12 year old son and I to take together.  Neither of us had ever surfed.  We had a wonderful time.   Both my son and I were able to surf after one lesson with Ryan! We highly recommend Ryan for lessons!!

Jared Cook

June 2016

This guy is good, he got me up on my first wave ever.
5.0
2016-08-29T16:22:25+00:00
June 2016 This guy is good, he got me up on my first wave ever.

Jessica Schreck

June 2016

This was an amazing place to learn how to surf. Ryan showed us how to pop up on the board a few times on the sand and then we went out in the water and because of his coaching I was able to get up on the first try and ride a wave! Josh was also very helpful and helped me drag my board through many of the big waves to get out farther. Overall it was a great experience! I would HIGHLY recommend it 🙂
5.0
2016-08-29T16:23:13+00:00
June 2016 This was an amazing place to learn how to surf. Ryan showed us how to pop up on the board a few times on the sand and then we went out in the water and because of his coaching I was able to get up on the first try and ride a wave! Josh was also very helpful and helped me drag my board through many of the big waves to get out farther. Overall it was a great experience! I would HIGHLY recommend it 🙂

Aniceto Cubillan Houtmann

June 2016

They were amazing! Great customer service, great teaching. Very small store but the environment was very good. I'll definitely be back
5.0
2016-08-29T16:26:41+00:00
June 2016 They were amazing! Great customer service, great teaching. Very small store but the environment was very good. I'll definitely be back

Allan I

June 2016

An unassuming storefront on International Blvd., right at the entrance to the beach. Ryan is an awesome instructor getting both our kids up on the board right away! My wife did great, it took me a little longer, but Ryan was both patient and encouraging. Josh and Wyatt were great help too! We highly recommend Vast Oceans and their world class service!
5.0
2016-08-29T16:27:17+00:00
June 2016 An unassuming storefront on International Blvd., right at the entrance to the beach. Ryan is an awesome instructor getting both our kids up on the board right away! My wife did great, it took me a little longer, but Ryan was both patient and encouraging. Josh and Wyatt were great help too! We highly recommend Vast Oceans and their world class service!

Dan Royals

May 2016

My son got lessons from Ryan and he is great with kids and treats my son like if my was his. and he is a great person glad to meet him
5.0
2016-08-29T16:28:55+00:00
May 2016 My son got lessons from Ryan and he is great with kids and treats my son like if my was his. and he is a great person glad to meet him

Elizabeth McNair

May 2016

Ryan was an awesome surfing instructor. I can't wait to go back and rent a board from him!
5.0
2016-08-29T16:29:24+00:00
May 2016 Ryan was an awesome surfing instructor. I can't wait to go back and rent a board from him!

Paul Whiting

May 2016

I took two lessons last year at another surf school in Daytona and was not able to get up and ride a wave. Ryan got my friend and I in the water and we both stood up and rode out waves on our first try!! Ryan was very informative and placed us on the best boards to learn on, can't wait to take another lesson! If you live in the Daytona Beach area or are here on vacation and want to try surfing, Vast Oceans is the place to go!
5.0
2016-08-29T16:30:20+00:00
May 2016 I took two lessons last year at another surf school in Daytona and was not able to get up and ride a wave. Ryan got my friend and I in the water and we both stood up and rode out waves on our first try!! Ryan was very informative and placed us on the best boards to learn on, can't wait to take another lesson! If you live in the Daytona Beach area or are here on vacation and want to try surfing, Vast Oceans is the place to go!

Greg McNair

May 2016

Ryan is an excellent instructor, and very patient. I was surfing on my first attempt, and now I am hooked and buying a board! He is truly passionate about what he does and it showed from start to finish.
5.0
2016-08-29T16:31:01+00:00
May 2016 Ryan is an excellent instructor, and very patient. I was surfing on my first attempt, and now I am hooked and buying a board! He is truly passionate about what he does and it showed from start to finish.

Christian Primrose

May 2016

Love this place, best place to rent from, and everyone is super kind!! Such good vibes there!! Can't wait to go back in the morning!! 🙂
5.0
2016-08-29T16:31:45+00:00
May 2016 Love this place, best place to rent from, and everyone is super kind!! Such good vibes there!! Can't wait to go back in the morning!! 🙂

Kate Masse

May 2016

Such a great experience! Ryan was very helpful with our group. He gave a quick lesson before to ease our nervousness because it was our first time. He helped the entire group enter the water safely.
I would recommend this to anyone looking for a great time! His staff was very helpful and assisted me in the water. Thanks so much Ryan! Best of luck 🙂
5.0
2016-08-29T16:32:59+00:00
May 2016 Such a great experience! Ryan was very helpful with our group. He gave a quick lesson before to ease our nervousness because it was our first time. He helped the entire group enter the water safely. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a great time! His staff was very helpful and assisted me in the water. Thanks so much Ryan! Best of luck 🙂

Sarah Dierickse

May 2016

Great lesson and super friendly staff. Easy for beginners. Up close experience with dolphins in their natural habitat.
5.0
2016-08-29T16:33:38+00:00
May 2016 Great lesson and super friendly staff. Easy for beginners. Up close experience with dolphins in their natural habitat.

Willa Stooksbury

May 2016

The people are really nice, had such a fun time paddle boarding. I would recommend to anyone!
5.0
2016-08-29T16:34:28+00:00
May 2016 The people are really nice, had such a fun time paddle boarding. I would recommend to anyone!

Aja Newkirk

May 2016

Just got back from an awesome vacation in Daytona and the definite highlight of that vacation was surfing with Ryan. Took my first lessons with him last year without any surfing experience at all, and was nearly able to stand up a couple waves in but didn't quite manage it. The next time I went up Ryan put me on a long board and by the tenth wave was finally able to stand up which I was pretty stoked at before promptly falling on my bum. Lol, this past weekend Ryan put me on a surf-paddle board combo and on the seventh wave I was able to not only stand up,  but ride the wave all the way through. Which made me happier than words can say. It's so much fun learning to surf with Ryan, he is super encouraging, a total goofball which makes surfing with him even more fun. Couldn't be happier about my experience with Ryan and look forward to going back for more lessons soon. 🙂
5.0
2016-08-29T16:35:09+00:00
May 2016 Just got back from an awesome vacation in Daytona and the definite highlight of that vacation was surfing with Ryan. Took my first lessons with him last year without any surfing experience at all, and was nearly able to stand up a couple waves in but didn't quite manage it. The next time I went up Ryan put me on a long board and by the tenth wave was finally able to stand up which I was pretty stoked at before promptly falling on my bum. Lol, this past weekend Ryan put me on a surf-paddle board combo and on the seventh wave I was able to not only stand up,  but ride the wave all the way through. Which made me happier than words can say. It's so much fun learning to surf with Ryan, he is super encouraging, a total goofball which makes surfing with him even more fun. Couldn't be happier about my experience with Ryan and look forward to going back for more lessons soon. 🙂

Andy Barker

May 2016

My kids and several of their friends and I took a lesson in early April.  The instructor was great with the kids.  His class was great; everyone learned to surf.
5.0
2016-08-29T16:36:04+00:00
May 2016 My kids and several of their friends and I took a lesson in early April.  The instructor was great with the kids.  His class was great; everyone learned to surf.

SLehrman

May 2016

I had a great surfing lesson with Ryan at Vast Oceans. Ryan offered great instruction and encouragement in a positive, effective and incredibly enthusiastic way. I look forward to returning with my family for more lessons.
5.0
2016-08-29T16:36:34+00:00
May 2016 I had a great surfing lesson with Ryan at Vast Oceans. Ryan offered great instruction and encouragement in a positive, effective and incredibly enthusiastic way. I look forward to returning with my family for more lessons.

Gulickcr

April 2016

Ryan is an incredible instructor. His high energy and encouraging approach made it easy to learn and love surfing! I couldn't believe I was actually able to surf after just one lesson, and he makes you look good doing it! He is also one of nicest people in Daytona. I highly recommend taking lessons from Ryan. He can make anyone able to surf with style.
5.0
2016-08-29T16:38:26+00:00
April 2016 Ryan is an incredible instructor. His high energy and encouraging approach made it easy to learn and love surfing! I couldn't believe I was actually able to surf after just one lesson, and he makes you look good doing it! He is also one of nicest people in Daytona. I highly recommend taking lessons from Ryan. He can make anyone able to surf with style.

Tonya Vanek

April 2016

Ryan just gave my 9 year old son, his first surf lesson and he was awesome!  He is an amazing teacher and my son is so excited to be surfing!  I would highly recommend him, for children and adults!  We will be going back for the summer camp!
5.0
2016-08-29T16:39:12+00:00
April 2016 Ryan just gave my 9 year old son, his first surf lesson and he was awesome!  He is an amazing teacher and my son is so excited to be surfing!  I would highly recommend him, for children and adults!  We will be going back for the summer camp!

Corrin Gulick

April 2016

Ryan is an outstanding surf instructor. I never thought it would be something I could do, and he created a surfing addict after one lesson. He made me confident in the water and can do the same for you. I highly recommend Ryan. If you are in Daytona this is a must!
5.0
2016-08-29T16:40:58+00:00
April 2016 Ryan is an outstanding surf instructor. I never thought it would be something I could do, and he created a surfing addict after one lesson. He made me confident in the water and can do the same for you. I highly recommend Ryan. If you are in Daytona this is a must!

Greg K

April 2016

Ryan was one of the best instructors I have ever had. In a matter of minutes he had me surfing like a pro! I have a bunch of friends that surf and after one lesson from Ryan I can keep up with them. I was fortunate enough to learn on the best day of waves in months! Bryan is a very professional instructor who makes surfing an experience of a lifetime. I would definitely go back there and do business with Vast Oceans Surf Shop!
5.0
2016-08-29T16:41:57+00:00
April 2016 Ryan was one of the best instructors I have ever had. In a matter of minutes he had me surfing like a pro! I have a bunch of friends that surf and after one lesson from Ryan I can keep up with them. I was fortunate enough to learn on the best day of waves in months! Bryan is a very professional instructor who makes surfing an experience of a lifetime. I would definitely go back there and do business with Vast Oceans Surf Shop!

Brittany Sworson

April 2016

I took surf lessons from Ryan and he was amazing, taught me a lot for my first lesson.
5.0
2016-08-29T16:42:46+00:00
April 2016 I took surf lessons from Ryan and he was amazing, taught me a lot for my first lesson.

Jaxon Hunt

March 2016

The Instructor was great! He knew what he was doing. He knew how to instruct and I actually got up this time because of him.
5.0
2016-08-29T16:44:09+00:00
March 2016 The Instructor was great! He knew what he was doing. He knew how to instruct and I actually got up this time because of him.

Clo12

March 2016

Ryan was a great instructor! My 14 year old and I had a great time. Ryan was great encouraging us even with a strong current. And it was great having the surf shop right by the beach!
5.0
2016-08-29T16:44:48+00:00
March 2016 Ryan was a great instructor! My 14 year old and I had a great time. Ryan was great encouraging us even with a strong current. And it was great having the surf shop right by the beach!

LittleRonWooty

February 2016

While I can't speak of any lessons in the water, as a person whose life was touched by Ryan Ragan following a bad during accident, I'll speak volumes of Ryan's character and lessons he offers on living life as a decent man of character .

In 2005, I broke my back surfing. As a parent of two young girls and husband and pretty athletic person, I was devastated by the potential of facing possible paralysis and a loss of an active lifestyle. Drowning in self pity and hopelessness, I was sinking into massive depression. Out of the blue I received a phone call from a young professional surfer named Ryan, who had also faced similar circumstances after a near career ending accident of similar proportions.

Ryan gave me hope and really lifted my spirits during that dark time, bringing hope and support to a complete stranger.

I'm up on my board again, I've run a marathon, climbed mountains and dove in many places in the world's beautiful oceans. Each day I say a prayer of thanksgiving for physical recovery and for a most kind soul who reached out and helped pull me from that sea of uncertainty in which I felt like I was drowning.

You and your kids will certainly learn how to surf in his surf camp, but more importantly, we can all learn much from this man's examples of kindness and the lessons he brings in being a good-looking decent human being. I'm most grateful for Ryan Ragan, and happy to see his dreams of teaching people to surf coming to fruition. More importantly, I'm grateful to now call this man a friend.

Best wishes, Ryan!

Ron Wooten

Galveston, Texas
5.0
2016-08-29T16:45:32+00:00
February 2016 While I can't speak of any lessons in the water, as a person whose life was touched by Ryan Ragan following a bad during accident, I'll speak volumes of Ryan's character and lessons he offers on living life as a decent man of character . In 2005, I broke my back surfing. As a parent of two young girls and husband and pretty athletic person, I was devastated by the potential of facing possible paralysis and a loss of an active lifestyle. Drowning in self pity and hopelessness, I was sinking into massive depression. Out of the blue I received a phone call from a young professional surfer named Ryan, who had also faced similar circumstances after a near career ending accident of similar proportions. Ryan gave me hope and really lifted my spirits during that dark time, bringing hope and support to a complete stranger. I'm up on my board again, I've run a marathon, climbed mountains and dove in many places in the world's beautiful oceans. Each day I say a prayer of thanksgiving for physical recovery and for a most kind soul who reached out and helped pull me from that sea of uncertainty in which I felt like I was drowning. You and your kids will certainly learn how to surf in his surf camp, but more importantly, we can all learn much from this man's examples of kindness and the lessons he brings in being a good-looking decent human being. I'm most grateful for Ryan Ragan, and happy to see his dreams of teaching people to surf coming to fruition. More importantly, I'm grateful to now call this man a friend. Best wishes, Ryan! Ron Wooten Galveston, Texas
5.0
34